top of page

"A Prayer" amongst Giants

A Prayer:


Lord,

this canopy of redwoods

holds Your air, here

I salute, Your gift in creation: this

forest: a stamp

on my soul, a renewal

of breath, in the rim

of pine needles,

sweeping, against the flimsy

light of Your presence,

reigning above my small

frame, revealing


Your prayer:


come,

come convicted

my child, step out

full throttle: first go,

as I have asked of you:

to reconcile: this seed you need

to plant, here: in the soil

beneath your feet, hence

my leading: to the trees —

second climb, this bridge

of the Fallen Giant:

girth of its trunk, its cracks

as your path, above

the earth, but I

will not forsake you; I

know you wander from home

in deference to my essence; it’s

echo falls through

these blankets of branches,

till you see, my hands hold

your heart’s cusp, I

am forgiveness, sprinkling

in fallen leaves: anointing

this terrain, entrusted to you,

to seek my signpost,

as rustling breeze,

inflates Your lungs: cease,

as dust sifts

through all edges

of these woods, sacrifice,

since once you root

within my whist;

I at once will confess: how

I love you so


Lord,

I tie

the clay, my limbs,

to your light, grounded

in love, but where

are You leading?


A fallen tree sits above a trail in a redwood forest.
Gifford Pinchot National Forest, Fallen Timber

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page